All versions
| Variant | Running cost per month | Median price | Listings | Fuel | Engine codes | Gearbox | Production years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1.2 DI, 145 PS, 6-speed dual-clutch Research | €389 | €27,890 | 113 | Petrol | HN09 | Automatic (dual-clutch) (6) | since 2026 |
| 1.5 Diesel, 130 PS, 8-speed automatic Research | €415 | €29,690 | 68 | Diesel | YH01 | Automatic (8) | since 2026 |
At a glance
- Years: 2021 on, hatchback and Sports Tourer. Facelift from 2026. Petrol, diesel, plug-in hybrid and Electric.
- Safety: Four Euro NCAP stars in 2022, and no central airbag. Pedestrian detection was judged weak.
- Reliability: 2/5. Several recalls since 2021, plus 12 V battery and infotainment faults.
- DIY: 2/5. Most jobs need a dealer or a diagnostic tool, including the electric parking brake.
- Prefer: a car with a VIN printout showing every campaign closed, and a full service history.
- Avoid: a 1.5 diesel built up to January 2023 without chain-recall proof, and a 2024-2025 car with an open fuel-leak campaign.
Engines and gearboxes
- 1.2 Turbo, 110/130 PS (HN05), six-speed manual or eight-speed automatic: wet timing belt; see 1.2 PureTech.
- 1.2 Turbo Hybrid 48 V, 136/145 PS (HN09), six-speed dual-clutch: mild hybrid.
- 1.6 Turbo Hybrid, 180/196 PS, and GSe 225 PS (5G06, 5G11), eight-speed automatic or seven-speed dual-clutch: plug-in hybrid.
- 1.5 Diesel, 130 PS (YH01), six-speed manual or eight-speed automatic: see Diesel camshaft chain failure.
- Astra Electric, 156 PS (ZK02), single-speed: see 12 V battery and keyless starting.
Gearboxes:
- Eight-speed automatic (EAT8 and e-EAT8): see Aisin EAT8.
- Six-speed dual-clutch on the 48 V hybrid and seven-speed dual-clutch on later plug-in hybrids: two clutches that pre-select the next gear.
- Single-speed reduction gear on the Electric.
Known issues
| Issue | Affects | Typical km | Repair cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diesel camshaft chain failure | 1.5 diesel, built 29 July 2021 to 31 January 2023 | Not stated | No confirmed price |
| Fuel leaks and fire risk | Cars built 2024-2025 | Not stated | No confirmed price |
| 12 V battery and keyless starting | All versions | Not stated | No confirmed price |
| Wrong speed limit on the display | Built 26 September to 10 December 2025; owner reports 2024-2026 | Not stated | No confirmed price |
| Infotainment freezes and slow navigation | All versions | Not stated | No confirmed price |
Before you buy
- On a 1.5 diesel built to January 2023, ask for a VIN printout showing recall KUH is closed. A cold-start rattle or no proof is a bad result. No scanner is needed.
- Check the VIN for fuel-leak recalls KUU and KRX. A fuel smell, damp stains near the high-pressure hose or an open campaign is a bad result.
- Test keyless entry from cold and lock the car from a distance. A key that is not recognised, or an alarm that fires by itself, is a bad result. A battery tester helps; a scanner is needed if warnings are stored.
- Compare the speed-limit display with the signs. Check that the over-the-air update KWS is installed. No scanner is needed.
- Use the sat-nav and screen for the whole test drive. A freeze, a restart or a stuck parking beep is a bad result. Check the software version on the screen; no scanner is needed.
Running costs
| Operational | €157 |
|---|---|
| Workshop | €88 |
| Fixed costs (tax, insurance) | €142 |
| Total per month | €387 |
| New-car depreciation (not included) | €477 |
ADAC figures for 15,000 km a year over 60 months
Market
Listings on mobile.de priced up to 50,000 EUR, 29 October 2026.
- Listings
- 423
- 25th percentile
- €26,950
- Median price
- €29,480
- 75th percentile
- €31,510
- Median mileage
- 50 km
- Median first registration
- 2026
- Dealer share
- 99.8%
- Price at 100,000 km
- –
To check a listing's price, open its variant in the table above. Each variant page has a price check.