Skoda Octavia IV (since 2020): known problems and buying guide

Built
2020–2024
Median price
€21,790
Listings
5,165
Running cost per month
€390–€508
Power
110–245 PS (81–180 kW)
Reliability
3/5
DIY
2/5

A practical family car, but check open recalls, the infotainment software and the front suspension before you buy.

All versions

VariantRunning cost per monthMedian priceListingsFuelEngine codesGearboxProduction years
2.0 TDI, 150 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch Research€422€19,9701,755Diesel DST, DTTAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2020–2024
2.0 TDI, 150 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch, all-wheel drive Research€451€19,9701,755Diesel DTTAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2021–2023
2.0 TDI, 200 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch Research€447€26,9901,030Diesel DTUAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2020–2023
2.0 TDI, 200 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch, all-wheel drive Research€475€26,9901,030Diesel DTUAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2020–2023
2.0 TSI, 245 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch Research€496€29,800458Petrol DNPAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2020–2023
2.0 TDI, 115 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch Research€420€17,980328Diesel DSU, DTRAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2020–2023
2.0 TDI, 115 PS, 5-speed manual Research€409€16,380252Diesel DSU, DTRManual (5)2020–2024
1.5 TSI, 150 PS, 6-speed manual Research€417€19,990224Petrol DPCManual (6)2020–2024
1.5 TSI, 150 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch Research€390€22,949220Petrol DFY, DPCAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2020–2024
2.0 TDI, 150 PS, 6-speed manual Research€416€18,299163Diesel DST, DTTManual (6)2020–2022
1.0 TSI, 110 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch Research€403€18,74594Petrol DLAAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2020–2023
1.0 TSI, 110 PS, 6-speed manual Research€407€16,99981Petrol DLAManual (6)2020–2023
2.0 TSI, 190 PS, 7-speed dual-clutch, all-wheel drive Research€508€26,49060Petrol DNNAutomatic (dual-clutch) (7)2021–2023
Show all 13 variants

At a glance

  • Years: 2020 to 2026; facelift 2024 with matrix LED headlights and larger screens.
  • Reliability: 3/5. TÜV is close to average, but suspension, 12 V battery and early infotainment pull it down.
  • DIY: 2/5. Software, sensors and recalls need a dealer and a scanner.
  • Biggest risks: open steering and DSG heat-shield recalls; glitchy infotainment on 2020-2023 cars.
  • Prefer: a facelift car with full software history and a fresh battery. Avoid: early cars with old software and no recall printout.

Engines and gearboxes

  • 1.0 TSI (DLA): 110 PS, manual or seven-speed DSG. See the 1.0 TSI guide.
  • 1.5 TSI (DPC, DFY, DXD): 116/150 PS, eTSI on DFY, manual or seven-speed DSG. See the 1.5 TSI evo guide.
  • 2.0 TSI (DNN, DNP): 190/204 PS 4x4, RS 245/265 PS, seven-speed DSG.
  • 1.5 TGI (DHF): 130 PS CNG.
  • 1.4 TSI iV (DGE): 204/245 PS plug-in hybrid, six-speed DSG.
  • 2.0 TDI (DSU, DTR, DST, DTT, DTU, DXR): 115 to 200 PS, manual or seven-speed DSG, front or 4x4. See the 2.0 TDI EA288 guide.
  • DQ200 dry DSG: 1.0 and 1.5 TSI, front-wheel drive. See the DQ200 guide.
  • DQ381 wet DSG: 2.0 TSI and 2.0 TDI. See the DQ381 guide.

Known issues

Issue Affects Typical km Repair cost
Brake heat shield and fluid leak DSG cars built 2020-2023 Not stated Free recall
Steering screw corrosion All cars built to 2026 Not stated Free recall
Engine cover fire risk Cars built 2020-2022 Not stated Free recall
Infotainment, cockpit and assist faults Cars built 2020-2023 0-120,000 km No confirmed price
12 V battery drain and failure All cars Not stated No confirmed price
Suspension wear and knocks All cars 100,000-150,000 km No confirmed price

Before you buy

  1. Read the infotainment version and fault memory with a scanner; test every screen, CarPlay, Front Assist and Travel Assist. Bad result: old software, stored faults, reboots or systems that stay off.
  2. Check springs and dampers on a lift; look for transport blocks under the front gaiters. Bad result: cracks, leaks, play or blocks still fitted.
  3. Test the 12 V battery after the car sleeps and measure the quiescent current. Bad result: a low battery or a drain.
  4. Check DSG heat shield recall 47U5 by VIN. Bad result: an open campaign.
  5. Check steering recall 48LS by VIN. Bad result: an open campaign.
  6. Check engine cover recall 10H6 on 2020-2022 cars. Bad result: an open campaign and the cover still fitted.
  7. Ask about camera calibration after any windscreen change. Bad result: Front Assist or Travel Assist inactive.

Running costs

Operational€160
Workshop€126
Fixed costs (tax, insurance)€127
Total per month€413
New-car depreciation (not included)€105

ADAC figures for 15,000 km a year over 60 months

Market

Listings on mobile.de priced up to 50,000 EUR, 29 October 2026.

Find offers on mobile.de

Listings
5,165
25th percentile
€18,000
Median price
€21,790
75th percentile
€25,990
Median mileage
80,610 km
Median first registration
2023
Dealer share
93.5%
Price at 100,000 km
€21,171

To check a listing's price, open its variant in the table above. Each variant page has a price check.

In detail

Brake heat shield and fluid leak

On DSG cars built from May 2020 to November 2023 the heat mat between the brake master cylinder and the exhaust can be fitted wrongly. The brake fluid reservoir can melt and leak, so braking can drop or a fire can start. UK recall 47U5 covers 15,729 cars; the dealer corrects the heat mat.

Sources: CheckThisCar, PistonHeads

Steering screw corrosion

On cars built up to August 2026 a steering fastening screw can corrode, especially where roads are salted. If it breaks, steering can fail. KBA 17091R / Skoda 48LS covers 1,719,030 cars worldwide and 370,347 in Germany, including Octavia III and IV, Superb III, Karoq and Kodiaq I. No engine restriction. The dealer fits a corrosion-resistant screw free. Check the VIN.

Sources: Sparneuwagen, VIN Service Planner

Engine cover fire risk

On cars built from 2020 to 2022 the plastic engine cover can come loose, touch the turbocharger, melt and start a fire. Campaign 10H6 (KBA 011737) covered 15,636 cars worldwide and 5,235 in Germany; the UK notice lists 1,150 cars built from September 2020 to February 2022. The dealer removed the cover.

Sources: auto motor und sport, CheckThisCar

Infotainment, cockpit and assist faults

Early cars have the most trouble. The screen can freeze, reboot or go black, navigation can show the car far from its position, the SOS system can click, and the cockpit can flicker. Most faults are software; dealers updated to versions such as 1668, 1810 and 1941. A failed update can leave a black screen, and a dead screen needs replacement. Front Assist, Travel Assist and parking sensors can throw false warnings; a changed steering wheel or camera calibration at 1,500 mm and 60-80 km/h fixes some. Software fixes cost little; no confirmed price for a screen.

Sources: CarWiki, Auto Express, PistonHeads, KFZ Dietrich

12 V battery drain and failure

The 12 V battery is the weak part in ADAC data for 2020-2023 cars. It can fail early, and a weak battery triggers many false electrical warnings. A car that stands can go flat, and short trips make it worse; start-stop then stays off. Check the voltage after sleep and measure the quiescent current. No confirmed price.

Sources: ADAC, octavia-rs.eu, Octavia-Club

Suspension wear and knocks

The TÜV 2026 report puts the Octavia close to average: 88.6% of 2-3 year old cars pass without defects against 89.4%, at 70,000 km average against 45,000 km. The weak area is the suspension: springs and dampers do not cope with high mileage, and newer cars often have defects at the axle mounts. UK MOT suspension failures rise from 1.8% at 50,000-100,000 km to 6.4% at 150,000-200,000 km. New cars can knock because dealers left blue or yellow transport blocks in the front springs; the dealer removes them.

Sources: AUTO BILD, VIN Service Planner, BRISKODA

Recalls

Country Code Years What is done
Germany (KBA) 48LS 2020-2026 Corrosion-resistant steering screw fitted.
Germany / UK 10H6 2020-2022 Engine cover removed.
UK 47U5 2020-2023 Heat mat corrected.
UK 91AA 2020 Online Control Unit software updated.
UK 93O5 2019-2022 Insulating mat added at the high-voltage fuse.
UK 42N1 2023 Rear left wheel bearing housing replaced if needed.

The steering campaign covers 1,719,030 cars worldwide and 370,347 in Germany. Check open campaigns by VIN with a Skoda dealer.

Maintenance

  • Software: ask for the campaign printout; MIB3 and camera update 48S5 are free but can take hours.
  • Battery: short trips and standing drain the 12 V battery; charge it, and disconnect the negative terminal if the car stands for weeks.
  • Servicing: about 350 GBP every other year in the UK, 285 GBP from the third birthday (2024).
  • Cambelt: 15 years or 186,000 miles (about 299,000 km), about 750 GBP (UK, 2024).

Sources

English

German

Russian